ELEVEN schools took part in a gala run by Penrith Swimming Club in which Beaconside Juniors scooped three trophies.

They defeated Appleby, Stainton and North Lakes in the section for large schools and also won the Thompson Memorial Shield, in which all schools were entered, and the cup for the school with the most points overall.

In addition, Helen Frith won the Dixon Shield competed for by swimmers from Beaconside.

The M. A. Wilson Cup contested by pupils from Penrith’s North Lakes School was won by Rayar Peyman.

Long Marton were victors in the section for small schools, defeating Crosby Ravensworth and Long Marton, while Clifton beat Hunter Hall, Skelton and Shap to take the trophy for best medium sized school.

All news